Weinberge_von_Jörg_Lehmann
IMG_0333
Herbst_FGA
IMG_2478

723 YEARS OF WINE-GROWING AT BURG SCHAUBECK

Here at Burg Schaubeck, we have over 700 years’ worth of wine-growing experience to draw on. This long-standing tradition – first mentioned in a document dated 1297 – is the foundation, but of course we’re constantly evolving, and pioneering new advances. Thanks to the initiative and dedication of Count Michael Adelmann, we have been using the barrique to mature our finest red wines since 1981 – a time when woody tones were frowned on in Germany. Other developments included a targeted thinning-out of the yield, electronically controlled fermenting temperatures, whole-cluster pressing and, in 1989, the long-awaited arrival of our first cuvée. Such ideas and techniques are now standard in many places, and are fast becoming traditions in their own right. Yet just a few years ago they were shunned or even unknown, at least in Germany. The estate has been in the hands of the Adelmann family since 1914 – at which point the vineyards themselves had been used for the cultivation of wines for almost 1,000 years.

.......................................................................................................................................

OUR PHILOSOPHY

 

Our primary goal is to produce distinctive, high-quality wines, without imitating foreign styles or other regions. We long ago decided to prioritise elegance and complexity over crude power or “volume”. When things get loud, the gentler tones are lost. That’s why we choose to focus on the sheer pleasure of drinking, and on making sure the second bottle tastes as great as the first. “Fat” wines are not really our style.
 

.......................................................................................................................................

TRADITION? INNOVATION? EVOLUTION!
 

Some things will never change – they don’t need to. We consider ourselves a wine-growing estate blending modernity and classic features, with a deep-rooted tradition that we fully intend to carry forward and continue to honour. We’ve never been afraid to optimise our processes – but first and foremost, we see wine as a cultural asset, not an industrial product. So you can be sure certain production techniques, be they ever so widespread – such as using oak chips to add an artificial “barrique” flavour, or heating red grape must to intensify colour – will never find favour with us. Yet the old-established methods are not always the best ones. Just because specific practices are “handed down” or “passed on” (Lat. “traditio”), this does not mean everything is written in stone – quite the reverse, in fact. Here, nature shows the way: evolution is the key. For a system to survive and endure, it is vital for its weak points to be recognised and corrected. When you stand still, you’re falling behind. This is why, from time to time, any enterprise must jettison familiar processes and techniques in order to innovate and improve – there is no other way to ensure its continued survival.

 
_KUW2866
P1190706
FB8A6386
P1020922
FB8A6373
FB8A6034-Bearbeitet
P1190711_edited
Bahn_edited
IMG_4870
IMG_3733_edited
P1190744

THE PEOPLE BEHIND THE WINES

 

The loveliest vineyards, the finest weather, the most nourishing soil, the most exciting grape varieties … it all counts for little without the skilled, caring hands of genuine wine enthusiasts. Motivated men and women of action whose sole aim, throughout the year, is to nurture the grapes while ensuring they are well prepared for the coming autumn. Because unless the original source material is up to scratch, no amount of winemaking artistry is going to help.

 

In short, be your skills ever so impressive, quality begins on the vine. Always. Once in the cellar, the trick is to make the most of that quality – ideally, through “controlled inaction”.

 

Terroir is an over-used term, often leading to one vital factor being overlooked: human beings. There’s more to terroirthan just the “soil”, or how this is expressed in wine. Rather, it is the individual outcome of a complex equation: a specific grape variety, cultivated and developed in a specific vineyard during one particular year by a winemaker with a clear, individual aim in mind. If you would like to learn more about us, visit one of our monthly wine tasting sessions or book your own, custom-tailored event.

.......................................................................................................................................

THE ESTATE IN FIGURES

 

Back in 1914, the estate owned just ten hectares of vineyards. This has now grown to 21, comprising 60 percent steep slopes with inclines of up to 75 percent – ideal conditions for high-quality wines with real character. 65 percent of the vine area is planted with red varieties, mainly Lemberger and Pinot noir. As to whites, the principal varieties are Riesling, Pinot gris and Pinot blanc.

 

We are the sole owners of two outstanding vineyards: Kleinbottwarer Oberer Berg (Lemberger) and Kleinbottwarer Süßmund (Riesling). Our premium wines are “HADES”, a Pinot gris, “Der Schwarze Loewe” (“The Black Lion”), a Lemberger, and “Vignette”, a red cuvée.

 

Major vintages: 1911, 1917, 1921, 1959, 1971, 1989, 1997, 2007, 2011, 2015, 2018

© 2017 Weingut Graf Adelmann · Auf Burg Schaubeck · D-71711 Steinheim-Kleinbottwar · Tel. +49 (0) 7148 921 22-0 · weingut@graf-adelmann.com

 

AGB    Datenschutz    Versandkosten    Impressum

0

720 JAHRE WEINKULTUR 

AUF BURG SCHAUBECK

Auf Burg Schaubeck profitieren wir von mehr als 700 Jahren Erfahrung im Weinbau. Diese lange Tradition (erste urkundliche Erwähnung im Jahr 1297) ist die Grundlage, aber natürlich entwickeln wir uns weiter und haben immer wieder Pionierarbeit geleistet. So reifen unsere besten Rotweine dank des Engagements von Michael Graf Adelmann bereits seit 1981 im Barrique – einer Zeit, in der in Deutschland ein Holzton im Wein noch als grober Fehler galt. Es folgten gezieltes Ausdünnen von Trauben, elektronische Gärtemperatursteuerung, Ganztraubenpressung und 1989 schließlich die erste Cuvée. Alles Ideen und Techniken, die inzwischen vielerorts als Standard gelten und im Begriff sind, Tradition zu werden. Sie wurden noch bis vor wenigen Jahren abgelehnt oder waren unbekannt - zumindest in Deutschland. Seit 1914 ist das Gut im Besitz der Grafen Adelmann. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt wurde in den Weinbergen schon seit fast 1000 Jahren Wein angebaut.

.......................................................................................................................................

UNSERE PHILOSOPHIE

 

Allem voran steht der Anspruch, hochwertige und eigenständige Weine zu erzeugen, ohne fremde Stilistiken oder andere Regionen zu imitieren. Seit langem haben wir uns entschieden, Eleganz und Vielschichtigkeit vor plumpe Kraft oder "Lautstärke" zu stellen. Wenn es laut wird, hört man die leisen Töne nicht mehr. Trinkfreude ist das Stichwort, auch die zweite Flasche darf noch schmecken. Sattmacher finden sich bei uns selten.
 

.......................................................................................................................................

TRADITION? INNOVATION? EVOLUTION!
 

Manche Dinge werden sich nie ändern – weil sie es nicht müssen. Wir verstehen uns als klassisch - modernes Weingut, mit einer langen Tradition, die es weiterzuführen gilt. Bei aller Offenheit für Verbesserungen, bleibt Wein für uns in erster Linie ein Kulturgut – kein Industrieprodukt. Daher können Sie sicher sein, dass bestimmte Produktionsmethoden, seien sie noch so verbreitet, bei uns keinen Einzug halten werden – sei es das ‚chipsen’ von Weinen für den artifiziellen Barrique-Geschmack oder das Erhitzen des Rotweinmostes zur Farbgewinnung. Nichts ist aber nur deswegen richtig, weil es immer so gemacht wurde. Das "Weitergeben" oder "Überliefern", (lat. ‚traditio’} von Gepflogenheiten bedeutet jedoch niemals, alles zu bewahren - im Gegenteil. Die Natur macht es vor: Evolution. Die Erhaltung eines Systems kann nur durch Erkennen von Schwachstellen und deren Verbesserung gesichert werden. Stillstand ist Rückschritt, und so muss sich jeder Betrieb gelegentlich von gewohnten Abläufen und Techniken trennen, um Neuerungen vornehmen zu können. Nur so ist der Fortbestand gesichert.

 

DIE MACHER

 

Was nützen die schönsten Weinberge, das beste Wetter, der nahrhafteste Boden und die spannendste Rebsorte ohne die geschulten und liebenden Hände der Afficionados. Den motivierten Machern, die sich das ganze Jahr um kein anderes Ziel kümmern, als die Reben zu verwöhnen und möglichst optimal auf den Herbst vorzubereiten. Denn auch die größte Kellerkunst nützt nichts, wenn das Ausgangsmaterial nicht stimmt.

 

Bei aller Fertigkeit gilt also immer: Die Qualität entsteht an erster Stelle im Weinberg. Die Kunst im Keller ist es, möglichst viel davon zu erhalten. Am allerbesten duch „kontrolliertes Nichtstun“.

 

Terroir – ein überstrapazierter Begriff bei dem häufig ein wichtiger Faktor vergessen wird: Der Mensch. Terroir ist nicht NUR der „Boden“, oder dessen Ausdruck im Wein. Es ist vielmehr das individuelle Ergebnis einer komplexen Gleichung: Eine bestimmten Rebsorte, die in einem bestimmten Weinberg in einem speziellen Jahr von einem Weinmacher mit einer klaren und individuellen Zielsetzung an- und ausgebaut wird. Wenn Sie mehr über uns erfahren wollen, besuchen Sie doch eine unserer monatlich stattfindenden Proben oder buchen Sie Ihre eigene individuelle Veranstaltung.

.......................................................................................................................................

WEINGUT IN ZAHLEN

 

Gehörten 1914 nur zehn Hektar Weinberge zum Gut, so sind es heute 21 Hektar, darunter 60 Prozent Steillagen mit bis zu 75 Prozent Steigung – beste Voraus-setzungen für hochwertige, eigenständige Weine. 65 Prozent der Rebfläche sind mit Rotwein bestockt, überwiegend Lemberger und Spätburgunder. Beim Weißwein dominieren Riesling, Grau- und Weißburgunder.

Die besten Lagen: Kleinbottwarer Oberer Berg (Lemberger) und Kleinbottwarer Süßmund (Riesling); beide in Alleinbesitz. Premiumweine: Grauburgunder „HADES“, „Der Schwarze Loewe“ (Lemberger), „Vignette“ (Rotwein-Cuvée).

Große Jahrgänge: 1911, 1917, 1921, 1959, 1971, 1989, 1997, 2007, 2011, 2015